members of Minden Hills Council for the 2018 to 2022 term
Mayor Brent DevolinMayor, Brent Devolin
Deputy Mayor Lisa SchellDeputy Mayor, Lisa Schell
Councillor at Large Ron NesbittCllr at Large, Ron Nesbitt
Councillor Ward 1 Bob CarterCllr Ward 1, Bob Carter
Councillor Ward 1 Jennifer HugheyCllr Ward 1, Jennifer Hughey
Councillor Ward 2 Pam SayneCllr Ward 2, Pam Sayne
Councillor Ward 3 Jean NevilleCllr Ward 3, Jean Neville

Council Office and Contact Information

The office for the Minden Hills Council members is located on the 2nd floor of the Administration Building, 7 Milne Street, Minden.  Council members can also be reached by mail to:

PO Box 359
Minden, Ontario
K0M 2K0

Position Email Committee Chair and Deputy Chair for: Phone
Mayor Brent Devolin Chair: Ex officio & Building and By-law
Deputy Chair: Economic Development & Cultural Centre and Roads
705-455-7077 or
705-286-1260 ext. 520
Deputy Mayor Lisa Schell Chair: Environmental and Property & Fire Services 705-286-1035
Councillor at Large Ron Nesbitt Chair: Roads
Deputy Chair: Fire Services
Councillor Ward 1 Bob Carter Chair: Planning and Development
Deputy Chair: Finance and General Government
905-302-7510 or
705-286-1260 ext. 522
Councillor Ward 1 Jennifer Hughey Chair: Economic Development & Cultural Centre
Deputy Chair: Environmental & Property and Community Services
Councillor Ward 2 Pam Sayne Chair: Finance and General Government
Deputy Chair: Planning & Development
705-455-2442 or
705-286-1260 ext. 523
Councillor Ward 3 Jean Neville Chair: Community Services
Deputy Chair: Building & By-law

The role of Council is to represent the public and to consider the well-being and interests of the Municipality.  Council is responsible for developing and evaluating policies and programs for the Municipality, evaluating the services which the Municipality provides and maintaining the financial integrity of the Municipality.  Council’s role is to ensure that administrative policies, practices and procedures are in place to implement the decisions of council, and to ensure the accountability and transparency of the operations of the Municipality.

Council serves a four year term and the election process includes a municipal-wide voter selection of the Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councillor-at-Large positions. The Municipality is broken into three sub-geographical regions called Wards.  The Wards represent the Townships that amalgamated to become the Township of Minden Hills, with Ward 1 being the former Anson, Hindon and Minden Townships.  Ward 2 was once the Township of Lutterworth and Ward 3 is the former Township of Snowdon.  Eligible voters also select a Trustee of the elementary and secondary schools for Trillium Lakelands District School Board and Conseil scolaire de district du Centre Sud-Ouest.

The current Council was elected in the Fall of 2018 and will serve until the Fall of 2022.  The next Municipal Election will take place in October of 2022.